Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages

Interreg Aurora (update September 7, 2021)

Interreg Aurora is a brand new programme in the European Interreg community for cross-border cooperation. Programme’s language is English. The programme offers opportunities and enables new and exciting cross-border cooperation between northern Sweden, Finland and Norway and Sápmi. The creating of the Interreg Aurora programme 2021-2027 is still on going. County Administrative Board of Norrbotten is appointed as the Managing Authority (MA).

Interreg Aurora priorities are a Smarter Europe, a Greener Europe, a More Social Europe and A better Interreg governance. Total ERDF funding for the program period 2021 – 2027 is 93,8 million euro and total program budget is app. 161 milloin euro including national co-financing from Finland, Sweden and Norway.

Smarter Europe priority funds projects related to smart specialisation and sustainable technology and business development through research and innovation. It also supports enchancing growth and competitiveness of SMEs.

Greener Europe priority funds projects related to climate change adapation and mitigation, risk management and monitoring. It also supports management of nature, wetlands, forestry and fishing. In Greener Europe priority you can also get funding for multi-modality, reducing CO2 footprint and harmonization of the transport system.

More social Europe priority funds projects related to education, training and life-long learning, culture and tourism.

Interreg specific objective Better cooperation governance funds projects related to building the fundamentals for cross-border cooperation.

Tentative programme area

Following NUTS III regions are covered by the programme:
Lappi/ Lappland
Pohjois-Pohjanmaa/Norra Österbotten
Keski-Pohjanmaa /Mellersta Österbotten
Pohjanmaa/ Österbotten
Etelä-Pohjanmaa/Södra Österbotten
Troms og Finnmark
Lappi/Lappland, Pohjois-Pohjanmaa/Norra Österbotten and Keski-Pohjanmaa/Mellersta Österbotten in Finland. In Sweden Sápmi sub areas covers the whole of Norrbotten, Västerbotten, Västernorrland and Jämtland, as well as Idre Sameby in Dalarna. For Norway the Sápmi sub area covers Troms og Finnmark, Nordland and Tröndelag as well as part of Innlandet (Elgå Reinbeitedistrikt).

The partner states established a Joint Programming Committee (JPC). The JPC shall have the overall responsibility for the preparation of the whole programme in accordance with the rules of procedure. Hanna Honkamäkilä from Council of Oulu region is member of the JPC.

The programme proposal has been submitted to the Swedish, Finnish and Norwegian governments for national approval. The aim is to submit the programme proposal to the European Commission in October-November 2021. First call for projects is in the beginning of 2022.

Public webinar and Stakeholder hearing about the program content will be held on the 11th February 2021. More information about it here.