Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages

Barents Co-operation

The Barents Regional Council unites 14 member regions and a representative of the indigenous peoples in the Northernmost parts of Finland, Norway and Sweden and North-West Russia.

At the same time as the BEAC was established in 1993 by the signing of the Kirkenes Declaration, the regional representatives, together with the indigenous peoples signed a co-operation protocol that established the Regional Council for the Barents Euro-Arctic Region with the same objectives as the BEAC – to support and promote co-operation and development in the Barents Region. The protocol determines the structure and the general aims of the regional co-operation.

Finland is chair of Barents Euro-Arctic Council 2021-2023

For more information, please visit: Barents Euro-Arctic Cooperation

Barents Regional Committee meeting chaired by Markus Karlsen from Finnmark.