Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages

Euregio Karelia

Euregio Karelia is a cooperation area and cooperation forum in the Finnish-Russian border region. The members of Euregio Karelia include three regions from Finland; Oulu Region, Kainuu and North Karelia, and the Republic of Karelia from the Russian Federation. Euregio Karelia was founded in 2000, with the aim to develop the viability of the region and the living conditions of the regions’ inhabitants via cross-border cooperation. Euregio Karelia is a member of the Association of European Border Regions (AEBR).

Developing transport connections and infrastructure in the region, promoting economic cooperation, improving social well-being, environmental issues, youth cooperation, as well as education and research contributing to the cooperation are focus areas of Euregio Karelia activities.

The board of Euregio Karelia convenes annually and consists of leading political representatives and Executive Directors of the member regions. The secretariat of Euregio Karelia cooperates on a practical level between the board meetings. The goal is to prepare and carry out cooperation plans and projects contributing to the positive development of the border regions, to remove obstacles hindering cooperation and to supervise the regions´ interests.

Euregio Karelia celebrated 20th anniversary in 2020 in an event. Event language is Finnish and English. Watch youtube video here.

More information in English

Euregio Karelia board meeting in Oulu in September 2018